Mirror critique and Artist Talk

Started Monday morning with last-minute reminders to hand in updated degree show proposals and 18-month plans. We were also told of an upcoming exhibition in the linear gallery, and that we must submit one piece of work to be displayed. He also told us that two painters and one sculptor would come in today, and talk about their practice. I might go to the painting talk, but won’t stay for the sculpting.

I started a new painting in my sketchbook. A Jaffa cakes box, but I am having trouble trying to fit all the writing into the box I painted. I have to be very precise, otherwise it won’t look right.

We had another critique, but different. First, the three students would introduce their work briefly, and Then Greg, out critique tutor for Monday, would pick someone from the group at random, and each person would present the three pieces on display as if they were their own.

It is called Mirror Critique, and it is meant to generate discussion among the group, and allow people to share their own interpretations of each piece of work.

I didn’t talk about the three works, because I wasn’t really interested in talking. The critique was still good though, and it led to some fun discussions from the group.

As for today, I finally handed in my degree show proposal and my 18-Month plan to Paul, and he took us to completer the international student survey. It wasn’t as long as I though, and I finished before 11.00.

I went back to do more painting, but I am beginning to grow tired of food paintings. I like painting food, but I need a change. I will have to think about it tonight.

In the afternoon, we went to the artist talk in the lecture theatre, and two Royal College of Art students spoke to us (it was two, now three). The first student, Francis, talked about his sculpture work, his influences and what he is currently working on. I am not big on sculpture, but it was an enjoyable talk.

The second artist, Sam, was a graffiti artist, before transitioning to performance and video art. He wants to make his own art, and doesn’t enjoy others telling him what kind of art he should make. He is similar to me, as I want to make my own art.

The artist talk was enjoyable, and very insightful.

I went back to the studio and made more paintings on my carton and in my sketchbook. As you can see, the image I painted was my Bolognese pasta sauce.

20180220_174924

Leave a comment