Degree show planning

Talking. Nothing but talking all day. First, I had to attend a meeting with my crit group, where we talked about each other’s work and how we can best improve it. Their work is good, but I was so tired and frustrated, I just didn’t feel like talking part, but I stayed as long as I could because I wanted to know what the others were working on.

After lunch, we had a meeting with AL Hopwood in the lecture theatre, where we each had to discuss the progress of our websites. Al liked my website, but suggested that I make my pictures bigger. I also noticed some spelling mistakes, which I will soon correct. AL also talked about out degree show, and that we need to start planning as soon as possible. He shared stories of his own experiences submitting proposals for his degree shows, and while some were successful, others were not. It’s like my applications for exhibitions.

As always, it was a lot of information to take in, but I am getting there, very slowly.

I had enough time to work on my paintings, but I have hit a roadblock, I don’t know what to submit for my degree show, and I still have my dissertation to work on as well. I did managed to paint two more colour-fields for my collage pictures, and I started work on a possible new series.

First, I paint two layers of acrylic onto a page in my sketchbook and drew an image of one of my favourite wrestlers on the surface with the back-end of the paint brush.

20171110_17125720171110_17044820171110_172645

Not perfect, but then again, nothing is. Besides, these are my drawings, which means I can do whatever I want. I think I might just go mad with this and see what happens. I have been playing it too safe, and now it is time to go crazy, look through my sketchbook, and pick my best drawings to use for my studio practice and degree show.

I also applied for two more exhibitions of Curator-space.

Leave a comment