Volunteering at the Old Fire Station

I have a very busy week. Today, I volunteered to help install a large-scale painting at the Old Fire station gallery in Oxford.

I was really looking forward to this, and when I saw the actual painting, I got even more excited. I really wanted to help install it on the wall. The paintings were made by Jennifer Allen, who will be exhibiting her work all throughout August.

Jennifer is also a performance artist, and will perform in front of her paintings, wearing similarly bright and vivid clothing, which will make her seemingly blend with her painting.

The exhibition is titled Transcending the Signified, and it explores themes of possibilities for performing outside of established, social boundaries.

Jennifer is also a performance artist, and will perform in front of her paintings, wearing similarly bright and vivid clothing, which will make her seemingly blend with her painting.

Unfortunately, I never got the chance. Since I was a volunteer, I was not insured by the gallery, and they were worried that I might have been injured if I tried to lift the painting. I understand their concern, and the massive painting looked extremely heavy. Still, I was very disappointed.

The things I did do today were pretty simple. First, I helped my dad move the gift tables around the foyer, and then I had to paint several steel grids (the bottom halves).

That’s all I did today. Paint small grids and move things. One of the directors tried to think of something for me to do for the rest of the day, but unfortunately, they didn’t’ have anything for me. We agreed that I can come back and do some ushering for their next exhibition, which should be ready soon.

While I am disappointed that I didn’t have much to do, more volunteering is good experience for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

