Berlin

This week, I finally went to Berlin. It was an amazing experience. I saw so much art, not just in galleries, but in the streets as well. Berlin is well known for being the art capital of the world, and I can see why.

IMG_4233An actual piece of the Berlin Wall.

Among the highlights of the week, was seeing the Berlin Wall. Hard to believe that it cut off half of Berlin from the rest of the world for so many years. Now, it serves as a canvas for young street artists to express themselves. I also visited a Baroque cathedral on my fist night. Usually, am not a fan of architecture, but I can’t help but admire and respect the level of craftsmanship that went into the construction and design of the cathedral. I even went up to the top of the tower and down into the crypt (thought I was going to spend the night inside the place). I had hoped to see it again before I left, but it never happened.

I even went to a Jewish museum and saw more great architecture, as well as learn more about Jewish culture in Berlin and it’s origins across the world.

Everywhere I turned, I saw another incredible piece of art, either from a gallery or on the streets.

IMG_4309

I went to so many art galleries and museums, my favourite being the Hamburger Bahnhof. A Few Free Years, their latest exhibition, focused on art and it’s relation to to popular culture and consumerism throughout the years. I saw art by 3 of the biggest names in pop art: Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Rauschenberg and Andy Warhol. It was an amazing experience, see their artwork in person.

Mao, 1973. Silkscreen.

IMG_4253Rauschenberg

Other pieces of art I saw included a Few Free Years, by the late artist, James Rhodes. His art revolved around isolating his viewers, overwhelming them with aspects of pop culture. In this case, a row of video game cabinets in a line and close together. I will go more into this in my review of the entire exhibition.

There were two specific art shows I wanted to go to before I left Berlin: Dali and Jackson Pollock: Mural. Dali features a collection of over a hundred preliminaries sketches and drawings by Salvador Dali, as well as sculptures and movies based around his art. I couldn’t believe that one man made so much art, it was simple surreal. The other exhibition, Mural, focuses on Pollock magnum opus, a large scale mural on canvas.

IMG_4379Mural, 1943.

The picture above doesn’t do this piece justice. The composition, the bold colours the mark making, skeletal figures and smooth brushstrokes are all utilised to perfection. The mural would inspire responses from Andy Warhol and  Lee Krasner, Pollock’s wife.

IMG_4381Yarn Painting (Warhol), 1983

IMG_4400Another Storm (Krasner), 1963

Several more Pollock paintings were on display, as well as photographs of various forms of repetition and mark making, which helped to influence his mural.

 

Unfortunately, because we were on a limited time table, I couldn’t stay longer and fully immerse myself into the shows.

Overall, I had a great time, despite the awful weather and walking around. One day, I will return to Berlin and visit more exhibitions, because the ones I went to really broaden my horizons in terms of fine art and how far I can take my own artwork.

 

Leave a Reply

