Group critique

Two fire drills in the morning! Not a good start, and things only got worse from there.

From 10-12.30, I had to go around the studio and comment on two or more pieces of artwork. I had to mention why I choose them, what I liked about them, what worked and didn’t work and the context and themes behind them.

Here the 3 pieces of artwork I looked at:

IMG_4159

The image on the right depicts someone who has the words “No Value” scratched into their back, leaving nasty pain marks and swelling, all while surrounded by logos and brands of various companies and businesses (Mcdonald’s Google, Facebook and Amazon).

On the left, rolls of toilet paper, covered from top to bottom with paint. With the No Value mural, the message and context is clear: in a world of big business, corporate greed and excess, there is little value in human life. The toilet paper is harder to pin down. Yesterday, it was nothing by a bundle of paper on the ground, and even straightened out, it  still looks ragged and messy. While I do like the rainbow patterns, it would have been nice to have a clearer context behind this installation. Between the two, I like the value mural more, because of it clear message and striking visual.

If you have read my previous post, you know my feelings towards the demon businessman street art.

For the rest of the day, we all had a group critique on nearly every piece of art in the studio. It lasted for hours, nothing but talking and talking and talking!. Still, it was very insightful, hearing how the other students produced their art, what influenced them and what they could have done better if they had the chance.

Tomorrow, I take my paintings down.

Leave a Reply

