Samurai Stencils

Today, I made three stencils, each based off a different image of a samurai. They were all base doff drawings I made in my sketchbook, which were based off imagery from various sources (art book and internet). The first image was based on an old wood-print of a Japanese actor (not samurai), 1794, while the other two were based off samurai from different eras and media: Toshiro Mifune from Yojimbo (Akira Kurosawa action film) and Samurai Jack (animated cartoon).

The first stencil was easy, but the other two were slightly draining. After awhile, my hand started to ache and I had to stop and rest it. Overall, I spent all day making stencils, and tomorrow, I plan to print them on sheets of A1.

Featured image

Leave a Reply

