Collage and Mono printing.

Today, I continued my person project, and began to make my collage background for my drawing. Early in the morning, I had bought to magazines from WHSmiths, each one featuring imagery of things I like/currently interested in (Comics, anime and film). Just before break ended, I went to the library and printed out more imagery from the internet to stick on my sheet. While working, one of the teachers came in and asked if anyone in the class was interested in doing mono printing. I’ve done mono before back at collage, but I haven’t done it in a long time, so I wanted to try my hand at it again and take a break from collage work.

With mono printing, you have to smear a small drop of printing ink across a sheet of print screen, lay a piece of printing sheet on top and lightly draw an image on top. This leaves two copies of the image on both the screen and the back of the paper (though the image on the paper is reversed). I did 3 monoprints and, with the help of the teacher, one stencil print. It was great doing mono printing again, and hopefully, it won’t be the last.

After lunch, the same teacher talked to me and my ta (Heidi) about my college work. She loved my use of college and suggested I photocopy the ones in my sketchbook and do further experiments on them , building off the curves and shapes from the images I have used. I had hedi go and photocopy two collages from my sketchbook, and later bought a white pen for me to use. The reason I bought the pen is because whenever I draw on the darker areas on my college backgrounds, it is hard to see. I aim to use my white pen for the darker parts and my dark ones for the light parts. I began drawing on my A3 collage but it wasn’t as good as I thought. I plan to further experiment with my black/white copies and build towards my final idea for my project.

Featured image

Leave a Reply

